M83 broadcasts new venture DSVII

12 years in the past, M83’s Anthony Gonzalez launched a compendium of in any other case unused ambient tracks he known as Digital Shades Vol. 1. Now, he’s as soon as extra exploring sounds outdoors M83’s typical experimental pop leanings with a follow-up assortment dubbed DSVIII.

Due out September 20th through Mute, DSVII is a way more deliberate venture than Vol. 1. As Gonzaelez defined in a press launch, “I needed to return again with one thing stronger that featured the depth of a correct studio album with out the strain of offering pop music – far from Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming and Junk.” In truth, he’d been left unhappy by the fan response to 2016’s Junk, and never fully creatively fulfilled by his involvement in Cique du Soleil’s VOLTA.

His answer was to abscond to Cap d’Antibes in France for 5 months in 2017. Spending his time stress-free with some traditional pastimes, Gonzalez discovered the spark he was searching for:

(Learn: Earlier than Daybreak, After Midnight: M83 in 10 Songs)

“I primarily spent my time swimming within the Mediterranean Sea, studying, watching movies and enjoying ‘80s video video games. The inspiration behind this file is principally online game music. It felt so refreshing to play all of those old style video games once more. There’s something so naive and touching about them. It’s easy and imperfect. And that is precisely what I attempted to attain with Digital Shades Vol. 2.”

In an accompanying checklist of references, Gonzalez mentions video games like The Legend of Zelda, Closing Fantasy, and Solomon’s Key; music from Brian Eno (Discreet Music), Suzanne Ciani (Seven Waves), and Wendy Carlos (Switched-On Bach); and movies like Wolfgang Petersen’s The NeverEnding Story, Don Coscarelli’s Illusion, and John Carpenter’s Within the Mouth of Insanity. Classes happened at his personal Los Angeles studio in addition to on the Glendale house of his M83 collaborator Justin Meldal-Johnsen, all utilizing analog tools.

Pre-orders for the trouble are occurring now. Discover the complete DSVII tracklist and album artwork under, adopted by Gonzalez’s full checklist of inspirations.

DSVII Paintings:

M83 DSVII Album Cover ArtDSVII Tracklist:
01. Hell Riders
02. A Little bit of Sweetness
03. Goodbye Captain Lee
04. Colonies
05. Meet The Pals
06. Emotions
07. A Phrase of Knowledge
08. Lune De Fiel
09. Jeux D’Enfants
10. A Style of the Nightfall
11. Lunar Son
12. Oh Sure You’re There, On a regular basis
13. Mirage
14. Taifun Glory
15. Temple of Sorrow

M83’s DSVII References:
Online game music:
The Legend of Zelda / Koji Kondo
Phantasy Star II / Tokuhiko Uwabo
Solomon’s Key / Michiharu Hasuya
Crystalis / Yoko Osaka
Closing Fantasy / Nobuo Uematsu
Dragon Quest / Koichi Sugiyama
Faxanadu / Jun Chikuma
Mom / Hirokazu Tanaka 

Plantasia / Mort Garson
The Wozard Of Iz / Mort Garson
Switched-On Bach / Wendy Carlos
Discreet Music / Brian Eno
Trilogie de la mort / Eliane Radigue
Manhattan Analysis, Inc. / Raymond Scott
Seven Waves / Suzanne Ciani
New Age Of Earth / Ash Ra Tempel

Unbelievable Planet / René Laloux
Gandahar /René Laloux
Satyricon / Federico Fellini
Zardoz / John Boorman
The NeverEnding Story / Wolfgang Petersen
Illusion / Don Coscarelli
Quest / Saul Bass
Within the Mouth of Insanity / John Carpenter

Important synths used for the recording:
ARP 2600
Matrix 12
Prophet 6
Roland Jupiter 6 and eight
Roland Jx 3p
Roland Juno 106
Synthi Aks

wordpress autoblog
amazon autoblog
affiliate autoblog
wordpress web site
web site growth


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *